Under Milk Wood – Dylan Thomas

Book: Under Milk Wood – Dylan Thomas.
Status: Read.

To give a bit of a breather from my reading Kafka’s complete short stories, I thought I’d post some quotes from something else I’ve read this month.
‘Under Milk Wood’ is the first thing I’ve read by Dylan Thomas, and it will by no means be the last!
I was fascinated by Thomas’ use of language – the freshness, the wordplay. It’s so clever and wonderfully eye-catching. Magic like this, when you can bring such youth to an old language, is why I just love literature.
This is just a tiny portion of what I enjoyed from ‘Under Milk Wood’ as if I could, I’d quote whole pages! Hope you enjoy. I may edit this post to include more quotes, perhaps after I’ve re-read the book.

“It is spring, moonless night in the small town, starless and bible-black, the cobblestreets silent and the hunched, courters’-and-rabbits’ wood limping invisible down to the sloeblack, slow, black, crowblack, fishingboatbobbing sea.”

“And before you let the sun in, mind it wipes its shoes.”

“Here’s your arsenic dear,
And your weed killer biscuit.
I’ve throttled your parakeet.
I’ve spat in the vases.
I’ve put cheese in the mouse holes.
Here’s your….
…. Nice tea, dear.”

“From Beynon Butchers in Coronation Street, the smell of fried liver sidles out with onions on its breath…”

Also, I loved how Thomas referred to Lord Cut-Glass’ clock- filled kitchen as “Kitchen full of time”.

I could quote whole passages from Mr and Mrs Pugh, and Mrs Ogmore-Pritchard.. Hilarious stuff.

Taken from ‘Under Milk Wood’ by Dylan Thomas.
Available from Amazon UK  – http://www.amazon.co.uk/Under-Milk-Wood-Penguin-Classics/dp/0140188886/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1248180681&sr=8-2

Leave a Reply

