In His Own Write – John Lennon

Book: In His Own Write – John Lennon
Status: Read

This is another old favourite for me, I discovered this while discovering the Beatles’ music both individually and as a group. Lennon’s short stories and poems are wonderfully confusing and he plays about with language like a football…
Some are quite dark, but as usual the best bits are at the end and I promised not to quote endings!
Saying that, I’ve put in a whole poem as it’s so short, and the poem ‘Good Dog Nigel’ is a perfect example of the nasty twist and macabre humour that is seen in these stories. Starting to think that ‘Maxwell’s Silver Hammer’ wasn’t so random! All the typing errors and spelling mistakes are meant to be there – Word did not like me typing this up, I can tell you..

No Flies on Frank

“I carn’t not believe this incredible fact of truth about my very body which has not gained fat since mother begat me at childburn. Yea, though I wart through the valet of thy shadowy hut I will feed no norman. What grate qualmsy hath taken me thus into such a fatty hardbuckle.”

“He journeyed downstairs crestfallen and defective – a great wait on his boulders – not even his wife’s battered face could raise a smile on poor Frank’s head – who as you know had no flies on him.”

Good Dog Nigel

“Arf, Arf, he goes, a merry sight,
Our little hairy friend,
Arf, Arf, upon the lampost bright
Arfing round the bend.
Nice dog! Goo boy,
Waggie tail and beg,
Clever Nigel, jump for joy

Because we’re putting you to sleep at three of the clock, Nigel.”

The Wrestling Dog

“One upon a tom in a far off distant lad far across the sea miles away from anyway over the hills as the crow barks 39 peoble lived miles away from anywhere on a little island on a distant land.”

I Wandered

“Past grisby trees and hulky builds
Past ratters and bradder sheep
In a resus baby stooped
I wandered hairy as a dog
To get a goobites sleep.”

All Abord Speeching

“2. Sing you with long voice.
For discharge
Deep breathing is Nescafe for a dark voice, deep breeding and in haley is very impotent for broadcastle and out-lying ariels… visibility nil in Rockall and Fredastaire?
Practice daily but not if  you’re debb and duff.”

I Sat Belonely

“I sat belonely down a tree,
humbled fat and small.
A little lady sing to me
I couldn’t see at all.

I’m looking up and at the sky,
To find a wonderous voice.
Puzzly puzzle, wonder why,
I hear but have no choice.”

Taken from ‘In His Own Write’ by John Lennon.
Available from Amazon UK – http://www.amazon.co.uk/His-Own-Write-Spaniard-Works/dp/071266615X/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1248779833&sr=8-2

7 thoughts on “In His Own Write – John Lennon

  1. Halo says:

    I don’t completely understand this. Actually no one probably does but John. I want to read the book but I’m Skeptic… I just don’t get it

    • kdmccoy says:

      Trust me – it’s good stuff. It’s fun reading with the malapropisms and all. A creative mind at work there, and cutting edge especially given the times he wrote it in,

  2. Army says:

    Bought this back in the 60s. Probably the funniest writing ever! Too bad John couldn’t make it as a musician.

    • Will says:

      Dear Army,

      Whaddareya, some kind o’ wiseacre?

      Lennon left a musical legacy of his own of staggering genius. His music will be heard forever. Timeless Anthems of John Lennon: “Imagine” “Instant Karma” “Give Peace A Chance” “Woman” “Power to the People” “Revolution”- each of these pieces have been invoked in times of trouble or doubt or yearning the world over. In crowds. In private places of intimacy. In times of grief. In times of revolution.

      And Lennon was one helluva lot funnier then YOU!

  3. Will says:

    YA! I AGREE WITH MYSELF, STILL!
    …..”goes without saying…”

  4. Rich Laska says:

    A marvel of wordplay. If I recall correctly, “Good Dog Nigel” followed the poem “Day at the Dennis” — an irreverent honorific to the author of Cards of Identity.

  5. Will says:

    YA! I STILL agree with me. Couldn’t have said it better myself, even if I did.

Leave a Reply

